Yak milk tea

IMG_6082IMG_6082

Many people around the world drink their tea with milk. The British famously do so, and the milk tea from Hong Kong is almost equally as famous. As a kid I would often put some milk in my tea too, but the Tibetans in my area take it to a whole new level. They don’t put milk in their tea, they put tea in their milk.

After a visit to the grasslands of Xiahe in the Tibetan Plateau, I stopped at a local restaurant for a short break. I asked for some yak tea, thinking I could try the famous yak butter tea. Instead they went out and came back with a bottle of yak milk. They poured the contents in a kettle and added some tea leaves.

I’m not the biggest fan of milk, but I can drink it if I have too. Unfortunately they kettle boiled over and the milk was burnt. All I could taste was burnt milk. I don’t think yak milk is supposed to taste like that, so I might have to try it again another time.

Fear Factor – 1 / Taste Test – 4

Leave a Reply

