Licorice parfait

Bali618

Dutch people love licorice. It’s one of those things that really is only popular in one country. Well, I should say region, because a few other northern European countries like Finland like it too. Licorice is a candy made of licorice root and salt, though it can be sweet as well as salty. Whenever I let some friends here in China try, they look disgusted and say it tastes like medicine.

When I was on holiday in Bali, I had to make a quick side trip to Jakarta to sort some things out at the local visa office. I had made lunch reservations at Salt Grill by Australian chef Luke Mangan. The restaurant was located on the top floor of a skyscraper with a beautiful view of the city. I felt a bit underdressed as everybody was in their office clothes, and I was in my holiday outfit, but the food more than made up for that.

For dessert I had a licorice parfait with a crispy tuille. The flavor of the licorice candy I had as a kid was definitely there, and I can see how some people see it as medicinal, but I kind of enjoy that. Besides the creamy texture of the parfait had mellowed the flavors out a little, and they were not so harsh anymore. It was definitely a sweet dessert with a hint of licorice root, but nowhere near as medicinal or savory as the salty candy we sell in Holland.

Fear Factor – 2 / Taste Test – 7

2 thoughts on “Licorice parfait

Leave a Reply

