Foie gras and truffle burger

IMG_3461

On my birthday I went to one of the few good western restaurants here in Lanzhou, Charlies Kitchen. It’s an American style diner with amazing burgers and lots of other options. That day was also the start of a new menu, and the manager let me choose one dish that I wouldn’t have to pay for. I’m not the kind of guy who would choose the priciest item on the menu, and I didn’t there was lobster too, but I was drawling over a foie gras and truffle burger.

My followers will know that I love truffle. I even had truffle ice-cream once, but foie gras is something I can take it or leave it. I do love foie gras mousse or pate, but a panfried liver is not something I would say is my favorite thing. I like the buttery, mildly coppery taste, but the texture can be a bit squidgy and unpleasant.

The burger tasted great, with a big smack of truffle sauce that I just adore. The foie gras tasted nice as well, and paired well with the beef. When I tried a piece of the liver on its own, I still wasn’t too keen on the texture, but when eaten with the rest of the burger I didn’t mind it that much. In any case it was a great tasting burger of high quality, and even better it was free.

Fear Factor – 1 / Taste Test – 8

Leave a Reply

