Halo Halo

Philippines0689

Teaching in China has the great benefit of long holidays and many nearby places to choose from. One of my travels during spring holidays was to the Philippines. I know the locals there are super proud of their food, but I just wasn’t blown away by it. One dish I loved though was a dessert called “halo halo”.

In essence it’s an ice-cream sundae with lots of added goodies. Some of those additions are were quite foreign to me, such as corn, purple yam ice-cream and some plantains. I thought the dish was amazing, especially in the beautiful surroundings of Spanish Vigan. On their own I might not have enjoyed the purple yam or corn, but mixed together it all worked quite well.

Fear Factor – 2 / Taste Test – 9

P.S. remember you can still vote for which dish I will try on my next holiday to Poland.

Leave a Reply

