Fried crickets

Thailand20150746

I wrote previously about eating scorpion here in China, but that wasn’t the first time I had tried eating insects (technically scorpions aren’t insects, of course). On a trip to Thailand two or three years ago I was browsing the local market in the town of Chiang Rai when I noticed a stall selling fried crickets. I was eyeing them out, but didn’t dare try. I exchanged some nervous smiles with a local girl who was thinking about buying some.

Later I came across another stall selling cricket, and low and behold that same girl was there actually buying a bagful of the little critters. She spotted me and held up her bag offering me a sample. It would be rude to say no, and it was a great chance to try without having to buy a whole bag, so I indulged myself.

I was surprised by how much I liked this local snack. There was no disgusting taste, which I was afraid of. In fact it didn’t taste like much at all. It was, as is so often the case, a textural thing. The crickets were crispy and crunchy, and with some added salt and chili reminded me mostly of potato chips.

I think that was my first foray into tasting the unknown. If I hadn’t taken that girl’s offer this blog might never had existed.

Fear Factor – 8 / Taste Test – 8

 

4 thoughts on “Fried crickets

Leave a Reply

