Green bean cookies

IMG_5366

I’d seen people use red beans in desserts all over China and Japan, but I’d not thought about using green beans in desserts. I’m not exactly sure why you would, but then again different cultures have different traditions.

The green beans are turned into a powder that’s then added to the standard flower and egg mixture. Sometimes they use mung beans, sometimes peas. I’m not quite sure which ones were used here, but as you can see from the picture they were definitely green.

The taste was sweet, with just a hint of earthiness from the beans. For my taste they were overly sweet, which was not what I expected at all. The cookies were very dense and buttery, but also very crumbly. It reminded me of a cheesecake crust that’s made of cracker crumbles.

Fear Factor – 4 / Taste Test – 6

Leave a Reply

