Truffle chips

IMG_5493

I’ve said it a few times already about other foods, but I really do love truffle. It’s one of the world’s priciest delicacies, and definitely my favorite of the bunch. I’ll take it over a glass of champagne with caviar any day of the week. The smell alone sends leaves me drooling.

I recently picked up a bag of gourmet potato chips that was flavored with truffle. The packaging said that it used real truffle in addition to truffle oil, and I could indeed make out some specks of black truffle. The aroma was distinctly truffle-like, a wonderful smell.

As far as the chips were concerned, these were some of the best I’ve had. They were crispy and crunchy in a way that could only be done with love and care, and with real sliced potato. Artisanal is a word that springs to mind, cliché as it might be. The taste of truffle was there, and although it didn’t leave completely, it did dull down towards the end.

Fear Factor: 0 / Taste Test – 7

One thought on “Truffle chips

Leave a Reply

