Blueberry pizza

IMG_5607

I’ve eaten many and many a pizza over the years, with many and many a topping. From the humble potato to the exorbitant truffle, but never ever with fruit. Well, maybe pineapple, but that seems to be generally accepted. My mouth fell slightly open when I found a blueberry pizza at the supermarket.

I thought there might just be a few dots of blueberry on there, but when I opened the package the whole thing was purple. There’s no backing down now, so after ten minutes in the oven I was ready to dig in.

In all honesty, it was a hundred times better than I expected. The fruit was not overly sweet, maybe even a little sour, and therefore didn’t clash with the cheese. Mostly you could just taste the bread, but every once and a while a berry would pop in your mouth releasing its tangy juice. I don’t think this is going to catch on in Europe, but I liked it well enough.

Fear Factor – 6 / Taste Test – 8

2 thoughts on “Blueberry pizza

  1. oneonlineblog

    As an Italian, I am supposed to be disgusted by this article – most of all the “pineapple pizza is generally accepted” part. But recently I had so much fun tasting pizza with improbable toppings… I’ll have to try it when I’ll be in China!

    Like

    • Off the bitten path

      Haaaa, well that made me smile 🙂 I’m quite passionate about Italy and Italian food. In fact I plan to move to Italy next year. I agree that blueberry pizza seems out of this world crazy, but it surprised me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

